How do I transfer ownership of a file in My Media?

By default, only the owner of a file in My Media/Media Gallery (Kaltura) may view the file in My Media, publish the file in their Canvas courses, edit and download the file, and access media analytics such as viewing statistics and submissions to video quizzes.

If you uploaded a media file on behalf of someone else or if you are leaving UVA and a colleague will need continued access to a file you own, you may transfer ownership of the file to them.

Note:

Tip: If you would like to transfer ownership of a file, but you also need continued access to the file, add yourself as a collaborator (opens new window) before transferring ownership.

Go to My Media.

Screenshot of link in menu.

Select My Media from your Global Navigation Menu.

Note: Steps for McIntire School of Commerce instructors to access McIntire My Media can be found in How can I access McIntire My Media? (opens new window).

Select the item to edit.

Screenshot example of a file in My Media with the title of a video file outlined.

Select the title of the video, audio, or image file.

Select Actions, then Edit.

Screenshot of the Actions menu under the media player.
  1. Scroll down on the page under the media player.
  2. Select the Actions menu.
  3. Select Edit.

Select the Collaboration tab.

Screenshot example of a video in My Media with the Collaboration tab outlined.

Under the media player, select the Collaboration tab.

Select Change media owner.

Screenshot of the Collaboration options for a video with the Change media owner button outlined.

In the Media Owner section of the page, select Change media owner.

Select the new owner.

Screenshot of the Change Media Owner dialog with a user outlined for selection.
  1. In the Change Media Owner dialog that pops up, enter the Name or User ID (UVA computing ID or non-UVA email address) for the person or Kaltura group who will be the new owner.
  2. From the list of names that appear, select the desired owner.

Select Save.

Screenshot of the Change Media Owner dialog with the Save button outlined.

View My Media.

Screenshot example of My Media page.

You will be returned to the main page of My Media.

Note: The file you transferred to another owner will no longer be available to you unless you added yourself to the file as a collaborator before transferring ownership.